United Arab Emirates

United Arab Emirates

Located on the Arabian Peninsula across the Persian Gulf from Iran, the United Arab Emirates (“UAE”) is bordered by Oman to the east and Saudi Arabia to the south. The UAE’s oil reserves are the seventh-largest in the world and its natural gas reserves are the seventeenth-largest in the world. UAE remains heavily dependent upon its oil and natural gas revenues, even though UAE’s economy is one of the most diversified in Arabian peninsula. Dubai, the country’s most populous city, has developed into a global business hub for tourism, retail, and finance.

United Arab Emirates was established in 1971 as a federation of seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain. Each of these emirates is governed by a hereditary ruler. These rulers in turn jointly form the Federal Supreme Council, the highest legislative and executive body in the country, with one of these rulers serving as the President of the entire country. Islam is the official religion of the country, and Arabic is the official language.

Postal Stamps of United Arab Emirates

Abu Dhabi



Fujairah, also known as Fujeira

Prior to 1971, this emirate was part of a group of states, known as the Trucical States. Stamps of Fujeira date from 1964-1972.


Complete Set of Marine Fishes Stamps From Fujeira

Ras al-Khaimah


Umm al-Quwain

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s