Reptiles on Stamps

Animals on Stamps TANZANIA Stamps SNAKE Stamps 1996 Topical stamp collection  thematic stamp collecting  postage stamps Africa Venomous snakes African reptiles Lizards on Stamps herpetology wildlife wild animals poisonous snakes reptiles of tanzania

Class Reptilia

Order Testudines (turtles and tortoises)

Reptiles - Geochelone Tortoises - 1982 FDC South Africa

Order Sphenodontia (tuatara)

Northern tuatara (Sphenodon punctatus)
Brothers Island tuatara (Sphenodon guntheri)

There are only two living species of tuatara and they are endemic to New Zealand.

Animals on Stamps  Tanzania   Africa   Dendroaspis angusticeps    snakes on Stamps   Common mamba    Green mamba   White-mouthed mamba venomous snake  Reptiles    African Snakes    Stamp Collecting   Wildlife

Order Squamata (lizards and snakes)

Order Crocodilia

Family Gavialidae

Genus Gavialis
Gharial (Gavialis gangeticus)

Genus Tomistoma
False gharial (Tomistoma schlegelii)

Gharials are rare and only found in South Asia.

1978 National Wildlife Federation (NWF) AMERICAN ALLIGATOR Poster Stamp

Family Alligatoridae

Genus Alligator
American alligator (Alligator mississippiensis)
Chinese alligator (Alligator sinensis)

Genus Paleosuchus
Cuvier’s dwarf caiman (Paleosuchus palpebrosus)
Smooth-fronted caiman (Paleosuchus trigonatus)

Genus Caiman
Yacare caiman (Caiman yacare)
Spectacled caiman (Caiman crocodilus)
Broad-snouted caiman (Caiman latirostris)

Genus Melanosuchus
Black caiman (Melanosuchus niger)

There are two living species of alligators and six living species of caimans. Alligators and caimans are recognized by their broad snout and the lower teeth which are not normally visible when the mouth is closed.

Family Crocodylidae

Genus Crocodylus
American crocodile (Crocodylus acutus)
Orinoco crocodile (Crocodylus intermedius)
Freshwater crocodile (Crocodylus johnsoni)
Philippine crocodile (Crocodylus mindorensis)
Morelet’s crocodile (Crocodylus moreletii)
Nile crocodile (Crocodylus niloticus)
Desert crocodile (Crocodylus suchus)
New Guinea crocodile (Crocodylus novaeguineae)
Mugger crocodile (Crocodylus palustris)
Saltwater crocodile (Crocodylus porosus)
Cuban crocodile (Crocodylus rhombifer)
Siamese crocodile (Crocodylus siamensis)

Genus Mecistops
Slender-snouted crocodile (Mecistops cataphractus)

Genus Osteolaemus
Dwarf crocodile (Osteolaemus tetraspis)

There are fourteen living species of crocodile. While crocodiles show a wide variation in snout shapes, they can be easily identified by the visibility of the fourth tooth of the lower jaw when the mouth is closed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s